Love your friends but hate to see their annoying updates in news feed? Now Facebook allows you to “Unfollow” them and block all their notifications without unfriending them. The new feature will help the users to clear the clutter from their timeline which is becoming a regular issue on the social network.
Earlier facebook had a “hide all” button which used to appear when you hide any update from a friend. Once you click the hide all button it will block most of the status updates from that friend but you would still see some of them such as likes and posting. The “unfollow” button works the way as “hide all” feature except the fact that it will turn off all the notifications.
The new feature started showing up in users facebook news feed from Monday and it appears when you click the down arrow next to a status from a friend.
Just two days ago Facebook announced update in its newsfeed that distinguish memes from real news and links from content websites. A press release on Facebook’s newsroom page stated “We’ve noticed that people enjoy seeing articles on Facebook, and so we’re now paying closer attention to what makes for high quality content”
To compete with twitter and encourage people to share, like and engage in conversation on hot topics Facebook will soon show you more links and news. According to the social network “Soon, after you click on a link to an article, you may see up to three related articles directly below the News Feed post to help you discover more content you may find interesting.”
That’s not all the comment section is also going to get upgrades so it will show you what others are saying about the stuff that interests you. Facebook says “Our testing has shown that doing this in moderation for just a small number of stories can lead to more conversations between people and their friends on all types of content.”
The social network is still tweaking the news related changes and has not revealed when will these changes will come into effect.